How to File Under-insured Motorist Claims in Vermont

July, 2015 by

How to File Under-insured Motorist Claims in Vermont

Vermont auto insurance laws require all drivers to purchase two separate policies. They must have liability and under-insured motorist insurance. These policies cover the cost of medical expenses and property damage if the driver is in an accident. Any driver who is in violation of these laws is required to pay a penalties based on the total number of previous charges.

What Liability Coverage Is Required?
The mandated liability coverage must equate to $25,000 for each injury that occurs in an accident. The maximum payout for this coverage is $50,000. The policy must also provide $10,000 for property damage. This insurance policy pays the expenses of the other driver when the vehicle owner is at fault.

What Under-insured Motorist Insurance Is Required?
The policy required under Vermont law must equate to $50,000 with a maximum of $100,000. The policy pays for any medical costs that weren’t paid through the at-fault driver’s insurance policy. When the accident victim doesn’t receive adequate coverage, they must file under-insured motorist claims to acquire the additional funds.

How to File the Claims
The policyholder must provide proof that they submitted a claim through the at-fault driver’s policy. They must show the full balance of the payout. They must also provide evidence of their existing medical bills. However, if the at-fault driver failed to comply with insurance laws, the victim should file the claim for the full balance.

If they are unable to acquire the funds through their insurance policy, they should begin a personal injury claim. The accident victims are restricted by the statute of limitations associated with accident lawsuits. The statute indicates that the victim has a period of three years to file a formal claim. If they fail to file before this date, they forfeit their rights to compensation.

Under-insured motorist claims are filed when the at-fault driver doesn’t have enough coverage to pay for expenses. These claims help the victim to acquire funds to pay medical and auto repair costs. However, if the claim is denied, the victim must file a lawsuit against the at-fault driver to collect these damages. To learn more about these cases, visit Vermontlawyers.net today.

Click here for more information.